Monday, April 12, 2021

18 local athletes named finalists for North Idaho Athletic Hall of Fame awards

Sports Editor | April 6, 2021 1:00 AM

COEUR d'ALENE — A total of 18 local athletes were chosen as finalists for the 2021 North Idaho Athletic Hall of Fame High School Awards.

The finalists were announced this weekend and the winners will be announced at a banquet on Saturday, April 17 at The Coeur d'Alene Resort.

Due to the spring 2020 season being canceled, only 2020 fall and 2020-21 winter sports are being honored this season.

Sandpoint senior Hattie Larson, who earned a share of the 4A-5A Female High School Athlete of the Year award last season, was named a finalist for the award again. She was also named a finalist for the girls soccer award and 5A-4A girls basketball honor.

The Sandpoint swim team received plenty recognition for their efforts this fall. The girls and boys teams were both named finalists for the Team of the Year Awards. They both placed second at the virtual 4A state championships this past season.

Kaya Wright and Kate Bokowy both grabbed girls swimming finalist honors, and Hayden Leavitt and Caleb Norling earned finalist spots on the boys side.

Clark Fork's Paige Valliere, a sophomore, was named a finalist for the 3A-1A Female High School Athlete of the Year award, while Priest River's Jordan Nortz received a nod for the 3A-1A Male High School Athlete of the Year award.

Sandpoint's Parker Pettit, Tag Benefield and Wes Benefield will all be vying for the 5A-4A football award. Zander Moore and Chris Koch are both in the running for the boys soccer award, and Nikolai Braedt and Jett Lucas are up for the boys cross country award.

Gabby Hicks was named a finalist for the 5A-4A volleyball honor. Kaylee Banks earned recognition in the 5A-4A girls basketball category and Colin Roos received a spot on the boys side of the award.

Priest River's Trentyn Kreager also was named a finalist for the 3A-1A boys basketball award.

Nominations for each award are reviewed by the North Idaho Athletic Hall of Fame committee, which selects the finalists and winners for each category. Each finalist receives a certificate and the winners also receive a plaque. The athlete, coach and team of the year awards receive trophies.

All winners for the categories listed below as well as the Hagadone High Character Award will be announced at the banquet.

Here are the finalists for each award (local athletes are in bold):

GIRLS SOCCER — Abbie Lyman, Coeur d'Alene; Ava Jakich-Kunze, Moscow; Hattie Larson, Sandpoint; Sarah Hines, Coeur d’Alene Charter; Riley Jo Anderson, Coeur d’Alene Charter.

BOYS SOCCER — Aidan O'Halloran, Post Falls; Chris Swider, Coeur d'Alene; Logan Koller, Post Falls; Dylan Parker, Lewiston; Zander Moore, Sandpoint; Chris Koch, Sandpoint; Daniel Walker, Bonners Ferry.

GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY — Sammie Wood, Post Falls; Annastasia Peters, Post Falls; Alahna Lien, Post Falls; Kaley Bohl, Post Falls; Angelyca Chapman, Lake City; Anna Marie Dance, Coeur d’Alene.

BOYS CROSS COUNTRY — Nikolai Braedt, Sandpoint; Brycen Kempton, Post Falls; Alex Peters, Post Falls; Logan Davis, Coeur d’Alene Charter; Jett Lucas, Sandpoint; Carson Sellers, Timberline.


5A-4A — Sarah Wilkey, Coeur d’Alene; Jaya Miller, Lake City; Tanai Jenkins, Lake City; Katy Ryan, Lakeland; Olivia Cooper, Lakeland; Gabby Hicks, Sandpoint.

3A-1A — Hailey Cheney, Kellogg; Brooke Jessen, Timberlake; Sydnie Zywina, Orofino; Morgan Blazzard, Troy; Rose Steward, Kendrick; Hannah Miller, Highland.

GIRLS SWIMMING — Helen Schumaker, Moscow; Kate Bokowy, Sandpoint; Kaya Wright, Sandpoint; Natasha Astrauskas, Post Falls; Ally Crossland, Moscow.

BOYS SWIMMING — Logan Robillard, Lake City; Lance Mielke, Lake City; Isaac Pimentel, Moscow; Caleb Norling, Sandpoint; Reid Johnson, Moscow; Hayden Leavitt, Sandpoint.


5A-4A — Jack Prka, Coeur d'Alene; Tommy Hauser, Post Falls; Kaden Cripps, Post Falls; Zach Johnson, Lake City; Cameren Cope, Coeur d'Alene; Gunner Giulio, Coeur d'Alene; Jackson Kohal, Coeur d'Alene; Jonah Ellis, Moscow; Parker Pettit, Sandpoint; Tag Benefield, Sandpoint; Wes Benefield, Sandpoint; Chad Redinger, Moscow.

3A-1A — Luke Fortin, sr., Timberlake; Caleb Frei, Grangeville; Eli Gibson, St. Maries; Dean Johnson, Prairie; Brody Hasselstrom, Prairie; Titus Yearout, Lapwai; Ty Koepp, Kendrick; Luke Trogden, Mullan/St. Regis; Adam Ball, Mullan/St. Regis.


5A-4A — Skylar Burke, Coeur d’Alene; Madi Symons, Coeur d’Alene; Brooklyn Rewers, Lake City; Kaylee Banks, Sandpoint; Katy Ryan, Lakeland; Hattie Larson, Sandpoint.

3A-1A — Camden Barger, Grangeville; Claire Osborne, Genesee; Erin Morgan, Kendrick; Talowa Fallingwater, Mullan; Brooke Jessen, Timberlake; Taryn Soumas, Timberlake.


5A-4A — Caden McLean, Post Falls; Kolton Mitchell, Lake City; Jack Kiesbuy, Lake City; George Forsmann, Lewiston; Colin Roos, Sandpoint; Noah Haaland, Lakeland.

3A-1A — Brayden Stapleton, Deary; Kenyon Spotted Horse, Lakeside; Trentyn Kreager, Priest River; Logan Jerome, Kellogg; Eli Gibson, St. Maries; Titus Yearout, Lapwai.


(All state champions)

5A-4A — Tyson Barnhart, Post Falls; Lane Reardon, Post Falls; Drew Roberts, Coeur d’Alene; Gunner Giulio, Coeur d’Alene; Matthew Whitcomb, Lake City; Rylan Rogers, Coeur d’Alene; Alyssa Randles, Coeur d’Alene; Riley Siegford, Lakeland.

3A-1A — Eli Richards, Bonners Ferry; Dylan Sotin, St. Maries; Gabe Prather, Potlach; Kadence Beck, Grangeville.

GIRLS TEAM OF THE YEAR — Coeur d’Alene Charter soccer; Lakeland volleyball; Timberlake basketball; Post Falls girls cross country; Sandpoint swimming; Prairie basketball; Kendrick basketball; Genesee volleyball.

BOYS TEAM OF THE YEAR — St. Maries basketball; Lapwai basketball; Lake City basketball; Sandpoint swimming; Logos cross country.

GIRLS COACH OF THE YEAR — Stacy Smith, Coeur d’Alene Charter soccer; Kelsie Badger, Lakeland volleyball; Matt Miller, Timberline basketball.

BOYS COACH OF THE YEAR — Bryan Chase, St. Maries basketball; Zachary Eastman, Lapwai basketball.


5A-4A — Skylar Burke, Coeur d’Alene; Madi Symons, Coeur d’Alene; Katy Ryan, Lakeland; Angela Lassen, Moscow; Hattie Larson, Sandpoint; Addisen Kiefer, Lakeland; Abbey Neff, Lakeland.

3A-1A — Brooke Jessen, Timberlake; Hailey Cheney, Kellogg; Sydnie Zywina, Orofino; Claira Osborne, Genesee; Rose Steward, Kendrick; Paige Valliere, Clark Fork; Talowa Fallingwater, Mullan; Erin Morgan, Kendrick


5A-4A — Matthew Whitcomb, Lake City; Riley Siegford, Lakeland; Zach Johnson, Lake City; Gunner Giulio, Coeur d’Alene; Cameren Cope, Coeur d’Alene; Kash Lang, Lewiston; Benny Kitchel, Moscow; Tyler Skinner, Moscow.

3A-1A — Eli Richards, Bonners Ferry; Eli Gibson, St. Maries; Brayden Stapleton, Deary; Ty Koepp, Kendrick; Jordan Nortz, Priest River; Luke Trogden, Mullan; Riley Trogden, Mullan.


Sandpoint senior Hattie Larson was named a finalist for the North Idaho Athletic Hall of Fame 4A-5A Female High School Athlete of the Year award.


Priest River junior Jordan Nortz was named a finalist for the North Idaho Athletic Hall of Fame 3A-1A Male High School Athlete of the Year award.


Clark Fork sophomore Paige Valliere was named a finalist for the North Idaho Athletic Hall of Fame 3A-1A Female High School Athlete of the Year award.