Sunday, December 10, 2023

Bonner County History - May 25, 2023

| May 25, 2023 1:00 AM

Brought to you by the

Bonner County Historical

Society and Museum

611 S. Ella Ave., Sandpoint, Idaho, 83864


50 Years Ago

Sandpoint News-Bulletin

May 25, 1973 — BIRTHS

May 14 – Mr. and Mrs. Jon Bair, Sandpoint, girl, 7 lb. 11 oz.; May 18 – Mr. and Mrs. Richard Neer, Sandpoint, girl, 7 lb. 7 oz.



Sandpoint Senior Citizens Club met at I.W.A. hall for a potluck lunch, followed by elections. Chester Howell was re-elected president. Richard Waits is vice president; Frances Van Rossum, secretary-treasurer; Gracie Irons, assistant secretary; Henry Peterson, Ruby Kimball and Rheuama Varney, trustees. R.F. Still won the door prize. The group will meet at Community hall in June as the membership is now too large for the facilities in the I.W.A. hall.



The SHS sophomore class will conduct a bottle drive Saturday to raise $50 for their Monticola fund debt. Donations of returnable bottles and aluminum cans will be appreciated. Donors may call 263-2090 before 9 a.m. Saturday for pickup service. Students will meet at Steve Gill’s home, 612 S. Ella, at 9 a.m.



Eleven members of the University of Idaho Air Force Officer Education Program (formerly ROTC) were commissioned during the university’s 78th Commencement. One was Richard J. Colliander, son of Mr. and Mrs. James A. Colliander, Sandpoint. Colliander, a member of the U of I skydiving team, received a bachelor’s degree in business.

75 Years Ago

Sandpoint News-Bulletin


A wind of gale proportions sprang up out of the northeast Wednesday, battering the Sandpoint waterfront and virtually wrecking Guy Young’s dock, including most of the walks and seven boathouses. Four boathouses on the Ponderay Boat Club dock tore loose from their moorings but were secured along the north side of the city dock where they rode out the storm in security Wednesday night. At 9 a.m. Thursday the gasoline storage house on Young’s dock collapsed, spreading gasoline over the water. For about two hours there was an ever-present danger some careless smoker might ignite the gasoline but soon the wind and waves dissipated this menace.



At a Bonner county girl scout council meeting at the home of Mrs. O.B. Parker, Mrs. Howard Staples was elected president, succeeding Mrs. S.V. Anderson. Also elected were Mrs. Clyde Cox, vice president; Mrs. Severt Erickson, secretary; and Mrs. James Breinich, treasurer. Mrs. Francis Bonner was named program chairman; Mrs. Ted Farmin, public relations chairman; Mrs. R.E. McFarland, camp chairman; Mrs. Margaret Hunter, camp director. School chairmen are Mrs. R.M. Curtis, Washington; Mrs. Edna Johnson, Farmin, and Mrs. Erickson, Lincoln. The summer encampment will be at Camp Stidwell at Mirror Lake.

For more information, visit the museum online at

Recent Headlines