Saturday, December 02, 2023

Voters head to the polls for city, school elections

Staff Writer | November 7, 2023 1:00 AM

From Clark Fork to Priest River, there is a no shortage of key school board, city council and mayoral races on the ballot today.

Among them are contested races for Sandpoint's mayoral seat and three council seats, a contested Dover council election, and contested races in both the Lake Pend Oreille and West Bonner County school boards.

With rain and mountain snow expected, Bonner County Clerk Mike Rosedale encouraged residents to leave plenty of time to get to the polls. He also encouraged voters to be respectful of others heading to the polls.

"Beat the weather," Rosedale said. "Be gentle with your neighbors."

Idaho Secretary of State Phil McGrane also encouraged residents to vote.

"Idahoans, your vote matters. Before you head to the polls, take a moment to be prepared. Check your polling location and preview the races and measures up for election in your county," McGrane said.

Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. 

In Bonner County, most but not all of the county's voting precincts will feature an election. Rosedale said there are roughly a half-dozen precincts that do not have any election — Algoma, Gamlin Lake, Kootenai, Sagle, Southside, Westmond and Wrench.

In addition, there are two precincts — Careywood and Laclede — that are mail ballot precincts for this election only. If necessary, voters from those precincts only may vote at the Elections Office in the County Administration Building, 1500 U.S. 2, Suite 124, on Election Day.

Residents who are not register to vote, but wish to do so can register to vote at the polls. 

To register to vote, residents must a photo identification and proof of their address. Photo identification can include an Idaho driver's license, passports, military cards, concealed carry permits and tribal cards. Address identification can include a mortgage statement, lease agreement, bank statement or a power bill.

"You have to be able to prove those three things: your name, your face and your address," Rosedale said. "All three have to agree with each other."

In the race for the Clark Fork City Council, three people are running for two seats. Running are incumbent Sharon J. Banning, current council president, Tanya M. Becker and Tel Thompson.

In the race for the Dover City Council, there are three people running for two seats. Running are Keith Congleton, Steven Haynes and incumbent Dan Parkin.

In the race for the East Hope City Council, there are four people running for two seats. Running are Pam Brockus, David T. Rost, Don Wells and Scott Wieman. In the East Hope mayor's race, Deborah Field is running unopposed for the seat.

In Kootenai City Council races, Stephen Ferris has filed to run for the Seat 2 position, and Daniel R. Schock has filed to run for the Seat 4 position. In the mayoral race, incumbent Nancy M. Lewis has filed to run for reelection.

In the race for Oldtown City Council, Susan A. Jones is running unopposed for reelection to her seat.

In the race for the two Ponderay City Council seats on the ballot, incumbents Brad Mitton and Brenda L. Thompson are running unopposed. Mayor Steve Geiger is up for reelection and is unopposed.

In the race for the Priest River City Council, three people running for the two seats on the ballot. Running unopposed for the seats are Doug Wagner and Sandy Brower. Jeff Connolly is running unopposed for the mayor's seat.

In Sandpoint, six candidates are running for the three seats — Amelia Boyd, Pam Duquette, Deb Ruehle, Kyle Schreiber, Grant Simmons and Elle Susnis. Ruehle is the lone incumbent.

In the city's mayoral race, running are Jeremy Grimm, Kate McAlister and Frytz More.

In the Lake Pend Oreille School District, there are two seats up for election. In Zone 1, located east of U.S. 95 and including Northside, Hope and Clark Fork schools, seeking the seat are Scott Wood, Jennifer McKnight and Rebecca Holland.

In Zone 4, located south of Highway 200 and including Sagle to E. Dufort and east of U.S. 95, incumbent Geraldine Lewis is running unopposed.

In the Lakeland Joint School District, which falls mainly in Kootenai County but also encompasses a small part of Bonner County, there are two seats up for election. In Zone 1, running are incumbent Randi Bain and Kyle Olmstead. In Zone 2, running are Thomas "T.J." Barnhart, Ramona Grissom and Cherish Hansen.

In the West Bonner County School District, seats in zones 1, 3 and 5 are up for vote with one position open per zone.

In Zone 1, seeking the seat are Alan Galloway and incumbent Margaret Hall; in Zone 3, seeking the seat are Elizabeth Glazier and Troy Reinbold; and in Zone 5, seeking the seat are incumbent Carlyn Barton and challenger Kathy Nash.

In the race for the Bay Drive Recreation District board in Sagle, those running to date include Kenneth Hooper and Kirby J. McKee.

In the Coolin-Cavanaugh Bay Fire commission seat in Sub-District 1, seeking the seat is Ed Kassa.

In the East Priest Lake Fire District, Thomas L. Clevenger is the sole candidate listed to date.

In the race for Northside Fire District commission in Sub-District 1, to date those running include Dave Bowman.

In the race for Sagle Fire Protection District, those who have announced bids for Sub-District 2 include Geraldine Lewis. In Sub-District 3, those who have announced a bid for the commission seat include Gary Suppiger.

In the race for Sam Owen Fire District, in Sub-District 1, those who have announced a bid for the seat include Tony Butler and Jack J. Craemer.

In the race for Spirit Lake Fire Protection District, those running for the Sub-District 1 commissioner's seat is David Esterly. To date, seeking the Sub-District 3 commissioner's seat is Dan Meliza.

In Timberlake Fire District Sub-District 1, Jeffrey L. Wilkins is seeking the seat. For the Sub-District 3 seat, Jeff Priest is the sole candidate. In the race for West Bonner Cemetery Maintenance District, those who have announced a bid for the Position 1 seat are Kerry Johnston. Those filing to run for the Position 3 seat include Thomas Holman.

In West Pend Oreille Fire District commissioner seat in Sub-District 3, Chris Davis is the sole candidate to file.

In the race for Position 3 in the West Priest Lake Fire District commissioner's seat, those who have filed to run for the seat include Carl (Cass) Steer.

In the race for the Westside Fire District commissioner's seat in Sub-District 3, those who have filed to run for the seat to date include Scott W. Heisterkamp.

To find more information about registering to vote in Idaho, visit or contact the Idaho Secretary of State at or 208-334-2852. Residents can also contact the Bonner County Clerk's Office, 208-255-3631, or online at

Recent Headlines