Sunday, May 26, 2024

Media team up to host candidate forums

Staff Writer | April 14, 2024 1:00 AM

Want to get to know local and state candidates?

Bonner County media and the Selkirk Association of Realtors are teaming up to help area voters do just that as the Bonner County Daily Bee, KRFY, Sandpoint Online, and the Sandpoint Reader are hosting a pair of candidate forums at the end of the month.

The forums are planned for Monday, April 29, and Tuesday, April 30, with both forums being held at Sandpoint High School's auditorium. Both forums will begin at 5:30 p.m. and last until 7:30-8 p.m.

"These events are a great reminder of the power of civic engagement and the importance of open dialogue," Clint Schroeder, president and corporate publisher of Hagadone Communications, said of being asked to moderate the Bonner County primary election forum for county races.

"These forums provide a unique opportunity for voters to connect directly with candidates, fostering a better understanding of the policies and personalities that will shape our community," Schroeder said. "We aim to create a welcoming environment where thoughtful questions are encouraged, and diverse viewpoints can be expressed freely. This is more than just a chance to hear from those running for office — it’s a way to enhance our democratic process through engaged and informed discussion."

The forums are a partnership between local media to provide voters with information on candidates before the primary election on Tuesday, May 21, working together to build an educated electorate.

The Monday forum will feature candidates in contested county races while the Tuesday forum will feature candidates in contested Legislative District 1 races.

 In the District 1 county commission seat, running on the Republican ticket are  James Burroughs, Brian Domke and Brian Riley. Running uncontested for the Democratic ticket nomination is Meghan Yeats.

In the District 3 county commission seat, running on the Republican ticket are Dimitry Borisov, Ron Korn and incumbent Luke Omodt. Glenn Lefebvre has chosen to run as an independent candidate, meaning his name will only appear on the November ballot.

In the race for Bonner County Sheriff, incumbent Daryl Wheeler will face current District 1 Bonner County Commissioner Steve Bradshaw for the county's top law enforcement post.

In the Republican race for the District 1 seat in the Idaho Senate, Jim Woodward and Scott Herndon are seeking the right to represent the party in the general election. The winner will face Daniel Rose and Steve Johnson, who are running as independents.

In race for the  Idaho House 1A seat, Democrat Karen Matthee will face the winner of the race between Republicans Mark Sauter, incumbent; Jane Sauter, and Spencer Hutchings.

In the race for the Idaho House 1B seat, Republicans Chuck Lowman and Cornel Rasor both seeking the seat while  Bob Vickaryous and Kathryn Larson facing off on the Democratic ticket.

Candidates will answer questions from local media and the public on hot local topics. Suggested questions for the first forum can be submitted to Caroline Lobsinger at and for the second forum to Ben Olson at Questions can also be submitted the evening of the events.

Candidates should register for the Monday forum by emailing Caroline Lobsinger at and candidates should register for the Tuesday forum by emailing Ben Olson at