Sunday, April 21, 2024

Ballots set for May primary election

Staff Writer | March 31, 2024 1:00 AM

With the deadline to withdraw as a candidate in the rearview mirror, the slate of candidates for the May 21 primary election is set.

That means the list of candidates who will appear on the May ballot is final, county and state officials said. The primary election — which will be held May 21 — will include races for U.S. representatives, state legislators, judicial offices, and county races.

In the District 1 county commission seat, running on the Republican ticket are  James Burroughs, Brian Domke and Brian Riley and running on the Democratic ticket is Meghan Yeats. Republican Josh Spencer initially filed to run for the seat but withdrew from consideration March 8.

In the District 3 county commission seat, running on the Republican ticket are Dimitry Borisov, Jeff Glass, Ron Korn and incumbent Luke Omodt. Glenn Lefebvre has chosen to run as an independent candidate, meaning his name will only appear on the November ballot.

Assessor Dennis Engelhardt, who was appointed to the seat in June 2023 is running unopposed. Engelhardt was apointed to the post after Grant Dorman stepped down for health reasons, 

Bonner County Prosecutor Louis Marshall, who is running as a Republican, is unopposed for the seat.

In the race for Bonner County Sheriff, incumbent Daryl Wheeler will face current District 1 Bonner County Commissioner Steve Bradshaw for the county's top law enforcement post.

In the Republican race for the District 1 seat in the Idaho Senate, Jim Woodward and Scott Herndon are seeking the right to represent the party in the general election. The winner will face Daniel Rose and Steve Johnson, who are running as independents.

In race for the  Idaho House 1A seat, Democrat Karen Matthee will face the winner of the race between Republicans Mark Sauter, incumbent; Jane Sauter, and Spencer Hutchings.

In the race for the Idaho House 1B seat, Republicans Chuck Lowman and Cornel Rasor both seeking the seat while  Bob Vickaryous and Kathryn Larson facing off on the Democratic ticket.

Four candidates have filed for the District 1 U.S. Representative race — Brendan Gomez for the Constitutional Party, Kaylee Peterson for the Democratic Party, Matt Loesby for the Libertarian Party and Russ Fulcher for the Republican Party.

The primary election date for each respective party is May 21. The general election will be held Nov. 5.